TASC Dares to Donate

In 2016, the Texas Association of Student Councils (TASC) announced its statewide service project for the 2016-17 school year – Dare to Donate – a campaign to support the Donate Life Texas donor registry.  At the recommendation of attendees at the State Steering Committee made up of advisors and students from across the state, the TASC Board of Directors designated donor registration and donor education to be a worthy challenge and an enduring legacy.

As a result, Student Councils across the state will be providing education and registration opportunities for students, parents and community members. We are proud to work together in this lifesaving campaign.

Educational initiatives may cover the rising need for transplants in the United States, the lifesaving difference donors make, and answers to the most commonly asked questions about donation and donor registration. Student Councils can also host donor registration activities designed to give students, parents, and community members the opportunity to join the Donate Life Texas donor registry.  These activities will not be conducted during formal class time and participation is strictly voluntary.

TASC and DLT strongly encourage family discussion about donation to help family members make informed choices about the lifesaving option of donation and registering with Donate Life Texas.  Texas law allows everyone to join the Donate Life Texas donor registry, regardless of age, gender, faith, ethnic or cultural background, country of origin or health status. Though those under age 18 can register of their own accord, parents have the final say about donation when a minor passes away.

Participating TASC schools (see below) will become charter members of Donate Life Texas’ new Unite 4 Life Partner program, an online resource program empowering individuals and organizations to create and host donor registration activities in their communities.

The 2016 TASC State Advisor of the Year from Texas High School, Susan Waldrep speaks about why this service project is so meaningful.

Participating TASC Schools as of 6/13/17

High Schools

  • Americas High School (El Paso) – Supporter
  • Andress High School (El Paso)
  • Andrews High School – Gold Award
  • Anna High School
  • Austin High School (Sugar Land) – Supporter
  • Bastrop High School (Smithville) – Supporter
  • Benjamin O. Davis High School – Supporter
  • Blooming Grove High School
  • Brewer High School (Fort Worth) – Bronze Award
  • Burgess High School – Supporter
  • Canyon High School (New Braunfels) – Silver Award
  • Caprock High School (Amarillo)
  • Carroll Senior High School (Southlake) – Bronze Award
  • Carver High School (Aldine / Houston)
  • Cedar Creek High School – Supporter
  • Clear Creek High School – Bronze Award
  • Cypress Creek High School – Supporter
  • Deer Park High School – North Campus
  • Deer Park High School – South Campus
  • Del Valley High School (El Paso)
  • DeSoto High School – Supporter
  • Diamond Hill-Jarvis High School (Fort Worth)
  • Donna High School
  • DRAW Academy (Houston)
  • Dubiski Career High School (Grand Prairie)
  • Earl Warren High School (San Antonio) – Silver Award
  • East Lake High School (El Paso)
  • El Dorado High School (El Paso) – Supporter
  • Elsik High School (Houston) – Bronze Award
  • Episcopal High School (Bellaire)
  • Fossil Ridge High School
  • Franklin High School (El Paso)
  • Gatesville High School
  • George Bush High School (Richmond) – Silver Award
  • Hardin Jefferson (Sour Lake)
  • Harlingen High School – Supporter
  • Health Careers High School HOSA (San Antonio)
  • Henrietta High School
  • Hillsboro High School
  • Irvin High School (El Paso) – Supporter
  • Irving High School
  • John Marshall High School (San Antonio)
  • Jones Futures Academy (Houston) – Supporter
  • Kempner High School (Sugar Land) – Bronze Award
  • Kerr High School
  • Livingston High School – Bronze Award
  • Malakoff High School – Bronze Award
  • Manor High School
  • Manvel High School
  • Marshall High School – Bronze Award
  • Mary Carroll High School – Bronze Award
  • Memorial High School (McAllen)
  • Montwood High School (El Paso) – Champion Award
  • Naaman Forest High School (Garland)
  • New Braunfels High School – Supporter
  • Nikki Rowe High School (McAllen) – Bronze Award
  • Onalaska Senior High School
  • Ore City High School – Supporter
  • Palo Duro High School – Supporter
  • Pebble Hills High School (El Paso) – Supporter
  • Pecos High School
  • Pittsburg High School – Gold Award
  • Plainview High School
  • Progresso High School
  • Queen City High School – Bronze Award
  • Rains High School (Emory)
  • Ridge Point High School – Supporter
  • Robert E. Lee High School (Tyler)
  • Rowlett High School
  • Royse City High School
  • Shallowater High School – Silver Award
  • Socorro High School (El Paso) – Supporter
  • Spring Hill High School (Longview)
  • St. Pius X High School – Supporter
  • Teague High School – Gold Award
  • Texas High School (Texarkana)
  • Trinity High School – Gold Award
  • Troup High School – Supporter
  • Valle Verde ECHS (El Paso) – Bronze Award
  • Veterans Memorial High School (Corpus Christi) – Champion Award
  • Wink High School

Junior High Schools

  • Friendswood Junior High School
  • Marshall Junior High School
  • Onalaska Junior High School

Middle Schools

  • Cathey Middle School (McAllen)
  • Ed Irons Middle School (Lubbock)
  • Lake Dallas Middle School
  • Longview Middle School
  • Macario Garcia Middle School Student Council (Sugar Land)
  • Quail Valley Middle School (Missouri City)


  • Aldine ISD
  • Alief ISD
  • Bullard ISD – Supporter
  • Deweyville 5th Grade Student Council – Supporter
  • East Texas Christian School (Longview)
  • Frisco ISD
  • Galveston ISD
  • Hays Consolidated ISD
  • Lake Dallas ISD – Supporter
  • La Vernia Intermediate School (Stockdale)
  • Mildred ISD
  • Mount Pleasant ISD
  • Orangefield ISD – Supporter
  • PSJA Thomas Jefferson T-STEM ECHS (Pharr)
  • Sacred Heart Catholic School (Crosby)
  • Spring ISD Student Leadership Council
  • Student Legal and Mediation Services (Huntsville)
  • TASC District IX – Supporter
  • TASC District 14 – Supporter
  • UT Tyler Innovation Academy (Longview)
  • White Oak ISD
  • White Settlement ISD

Share Story

Want to read more stories?

View stories

Ready to save lives?

Register now